The Next Chapter

The Next Chapter award, created by The Wheeler Centre and supported by the Aesop Foundation, was designed to help a new wave of writers develop their skills and writing. In 2018, I was selected as an inaugural recipient by judges Christos Tsiolkas, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Benjamin Law and Ellen van Neerven. Over the course of 12 months, I completed my comedy-fiction manuscript under the mentorship of Nick Earls.

WrICE fellowship

The Writers Immersion and Cultural Exchange (WrICE) brings together Australian and Asia–Pacific writers for face-to-face collaborative residencies in Asia and Australia. I took part in the 2016 fellowship, which was held in Yangshuo, China, with corresponding public events at Sun Yat-sen University in Guangzhou. Other writers taking part included Alice Pung, Michele Lee, Maggie Tiojakin and Lawrence Lacambra Ypil.

Dr John Yu Fellowship

This cultural diversity and leadership program is the first of its kind in Australia. It addresses the gap in training for high-achieving multicultural leaders and for organisations who want to take their diversity and inclusion to the next level. John Yu Fellows are identified as leaders in their field who can help drive change and empower others. In 2020, I was nominated for this fellowship by the ABC.

Varuna Writer’s House

Monash Creative Writing Prize

Boroondara Literary Awards
Highly commended

The Shortest Short Story Competition